Introduction

THE collection of articles which appears as a meeting report in this issue of *Pharmacology Biochemistry and Behavior* is one of three reports which resulted from the first Conference of the International Behavioral Neuroscience Society which was held in San Antonio on May 21 through 24, 1992. The Conference was organized by Matthew J. Wayner and Paul R. Sanberg and was co-sponsored by The University of Texas at San Antonio. We would like to express our appreciation to Marianne Van Wagner who served as the Conference Administrator and to Dr. Clyde Phelix who acted as our secretary during the organizational meeting of the Society.

The Conference was organized into three symposia:

Obesity: Hunger and Satie Keynote Speaker: Chairperson:	ty George A. Bray Paula J. Geiselman
Peptides, Neurotransmitters, and Behavior	
Keynote Speaker:	Abba J. Kastin
Chairperson:	Robert D. Myers
Artificial Tissue Engineeri	ng: Neural Transplants,
Regeneration, and Behavi	oral Recovery
Keynote Speaker:	Patrick Aebischer
Chairperson:	Jeffery Kordower

The oral presentations and poster sessions resulted in the submission of 56 research articles. All the articles were subjected to peer review. The original date of receipt for the manuscripts was the last day of the Conference, May 24, 1992. The other two meeting reports appear in *Physiology & Behavior* and *Brain Research Bulletin*. Authors were given a choice as to which journal they preferred for the publication of their results. During the Conference a meeting was held to discuss tentative bylaws and related issues to the establishment of the International Behavioral Neuroscience Society. The bylaws were accepted by a unanimous vote of the founding members present. The following officers and councilors were elected:

OFFICERS: President, Matthew J. Wayner; President-Elect, Paul R. Sanberg; Secretary, Linda P. Spear; Treasurer, Michael L. Woodruff.

COUNCIL MEMBERS: Australia, Claude A. Bernard; Canada, Klaus-Peter Ossenkopp; Eurasia, Manuel Freire-Garabal and László Lénárd; Japan, Yutaka Oomura; Latin America, Rene Drucker-Colín; Students, Annie Morien and Paul A. Rushing; United States, Robert L. Isaacson and Abba J. Kastin.

We would like to acknowledge and thank the following organizations for their financial support of the first International Behavioral Neuroscience Conference:

> American Cyanamid Company Cortex Pharmaceuticals Glaxo Inc. Pfizer Inc. San Diego Instruments

> > Matthew J. Wayner Editor